WASHINGTON, DC – Speaker of the House Paul Ryan today named Congressman Austin Scott (GA-08), a Member of the House Armed Services Committee (HASC), to serve on a conference committee of the House and Senate versions of the Fiscal Year 2019 National Defense Authorization Act (FY19 NDAA). Over the coming weeks, the conference committee will work through differences in the House and Senate versions of FY19 NDAA. After the announcement, Rep. Scott released the following statement:

“Earlier this year, the House passed a strong defense bill aimed at equipping our military with the resources it needs to remain the world’s elite fighting force,” said Rep. Scott. “I’m very honored to be chosen as a NDAA Conferee, and I look forward to getting to work on hammering out a final piece of legislation that meets the unique needs we face in securing freedom and keeping Americans safe.”

“With more than seven years experience serving on the House Armed Services Committee and as a previous NDAA conferee, Congressman Austin Scott understands the readiness crisis facing our military clearly and the lengths we must go to address it,” said HASC Chairman Mac Thornberry. “He will be a strong voice as we engage with our colleagues in the House and Senate to deliver a defense bill that works for the American people.”

The following HASC Members were named to serve on the House-Senate Conference Committee:

  • Rep. Mac Thornberry (R-TX), Chairman
  • Rep. Joe Wilson (R-SC)
  • Rep. Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ)
  • Rep. Rob Bishop (R-UT)
  • Rep. Mike Turner (R-OH)
  • Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL)
  • Rep. Bill Shuster (R-PA)
  • Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX)
  • Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-CO)
  • Rep. Rob Wittman (R-VA)
  • Rep. Mike Coffman (R-CO)
  • Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R-MO)
  • Rep. Austin Scott (R-GA)
  • Rep. Paul Cook (R-CA)
  • Rep. Bradley Byrne (R-LA)
  • Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY)
  • Rep. Don Bacon (R-NE)
  • Rep. Jim Banks (R-IN)
  • Rep. Adam Smith (D-WA), Ranking Member
  • Rep. Susan Davis (D-CA)
  • Rep. James Langevin (D-RI)
  • Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN)
  • Rep. Madeleine Bordallo (D-GU)
  • Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT)
  • Rep. Niki Tsongas (D-MA)
  • Rep. John Garamendi (D-CA)
  • Rep. Jackie Speier (D-CA)
  • Rep. Marc Veasey (D-TX)
  • Rep. Tulsi Gabbard (D-HI)
  • Rep. Beto O'Rourke (D-TX)
  • Rep. Stephanie Murphy (D-FL)