Congressman Austin Scott

Representing the 8th District of Georgia



Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Scott, HASC Republicans Stress Need to Maintain National Defense in Letter to Budget Conference

October 25, 2013
Press Release

WASHINGTON – U.S. Congressman Austin Scott (GA-08) joined House Armed Services Committee (HASC) Republicans in sending a letter to FY14 Budget conferees, Chairman Paul Ryan and Chairman Patty Murray, highlighting the need to maintain national defense at the House budget level. The letter describes the impacts of defense cuts both to the overall force and readiness, while urging support for entitlement reform in lieu of cuts to our military.

“Time and time again over the last 24 months, the committee has received testimony that sequestration will be devastating to our Armed Forces, their family members, and the defense industrial base, as well as local communities and the economy,” stated HASC Republicans in their letter.

“The members of this committee believe that everything should be on the table in order to address our Nation’s deficit spending. However, while defense represents only 17 percent of our national budget, our military has absorbed 50 percent of the cuts to date.

“In closing, we look forward to working with you and the members of the Conference on the Budget to construct a budget plan that reflects our commitment to meet emerging threats and secures our national defense.”

The letter serves as a companion to the formal Views and Estimates the HASC sent to the Budget Committee in March. The letter included an attachment with testimony we’ve received at the HASC from the service chiefs and others.

A pdf version of the letter is available here, and the following HASC members joined Rep. Scott in signing on to the letter:

Chairman Howard "Buck" McKeon, California

Vice Chairman Mac Thornberry, Texas

Rep. Randy Forbes, Virginia

Rep. Jeff Miller, Florida

Rep. Joe Wilson, South Carolina

Rep. Frank LoBiondo, New Jersey

Rep. Rob Bishop, Utah

Rep. Mike Turner, Ohio

Rep. John Kline, Minnesota

Rep. Mike Rogers, Alabama

Rep. Trent Franks, Arizona

Rep. Bill Shuster, Pennsylvania

Rep. Mike Conaway, Texas

Rep. Doug Lamborn, Colorado

Rep. Rob Wittman, Virginia

Rep. Duncan D. Hunter, California

Rep. John C. Fleming, Louisiana

Rep. Scott Rigell, Virginia

Rep. Chris Gibson, New York

Rep. Vicky Hartzler, Missouri

Rep. Joe Heck, Nevada

Rep. Jon Runyan, New Jersey

Rep. Austin Scott, Georgia

Rep. Steven Palazzo, Mississippi

Rep. Martha Roby, Alabama

Rep. Mo Brooks, Alabama

Rep.Paul Cook, California

Rep. Jim Bridenstine, Oklahoma

Rep. Brad Wenstrup, Ohio

Rep. Jackie Walorski, Indiana