Rep. Austin Scott Named Negotiator for 2018 Farm Bill

July 18, 2018
Press Release
Rep. Scott chosen by Speaker Paul Ryan to represent the Chamber in coming talks over the 2018 Farm Bill.

WASHINGTON, DC – Speaker of the House Paul Ryan today named Rep. Austin Scott (GA-08), a Member of the House Agriculture Committee and Chairman of the Subcommittee on Commodity Exchanges, Energy and Credit, to serve on a conference committee of the House and Senate versions of the 2018 Farm Bill. Over the coming weeks, the conference committee will work through differences in the House and Senate versions of the farm bill.

This is Rep. Scott’s second time to serve on a conference committee for the Farm Bill, which is written about every five years. After the announcement, Rep. Scott released the following statement:

“I am very honored to have been chosen to sit on this bipartisan, bicameral conference committee for the 2018 Farm Bill, and I am eager to get to work with Chairman Conaway and my House and Senate colleagues to hammer out the final details of this monumental piece of agriculture policy,” said Rep. Scott. “As we move through these final deliberations, we have the opportunity to bring much-needed policy changes to our agriculture sector and inject new life into our rural communities. I look forward to continuing to press my colleagues on the important farm policy issues that matter most to Georgians to bring new life, innovation, and development to one of our nation’s oldest and largest economic drivers.”

“Today, we move one step closer to delivering a strong, new farm bill to the president’s desk on time as he has called on Congress to do. America's farmers and ranchers and rural America are struggling right now and they deserve the certainty of a strong farm bill to see them through to better times. The House has pulled together a solid team of conferees – including Rep. Scott. I’m looking forward to working with Austin, who has been a strong voice for agriculture through this process, and the rest of our House and Senate colleagues to reach a final product that helps millions of low-income Americans climb the economic ladder, while standing by our nation’s hard-working farm and ranch families,” said House Agriculture Committee Chairman Mike Conaway.

The following Republican Members were named to serve on the House-Senate conference committee:

House Agriculture Committee

  1. Chairman Mike Conaway (R-TX)
  2. Rep. Glenn Thompson (R-PA)
  3. Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-VA)
  4. Rep. Frank Lucas (R-OK)
  5. Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL)
  6. Rep. Austin Scott (R-GA)
  7. Rep. Rick Crawford (R-AR)
  8. Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R-MO)
  9. Rep. Rodney Davis (R-IL)
  10. Rep. Ted Yoho (R-FL)
  11. Rep. David Rouzer (R-NC)
  12. Rep. Roger Marshall (R-KS)
  13. Rep. Jodey Arrington (R-TX)

House Education and the Workforce Committee

  1. Chairwoman Virginia Foxx (R-NC)
  2. Rep. Rick Allen (R-GA)

House Energy and Commerce Committee

  1. Rep. John Shimkus (R-IL)
  2. Rep. Kevin Cramer (R-ND)

House Financial Services Committee

  1. Chairman Jeb Hensarling (R-TX)
  2. Rep. Sean Duffy (R-WI)

House Foreign Affairs Committee

  1. Chairman Ed Royce (R-CA)
  2. Rep. Steve Chabot (R-OH)

House Oversight and Government Reform Committee

  1. Rep. Mark Walker (R-NC)
  2. Rep. James Comer (R-KY)

House Natural Resources Committee

  1. Chairman Rob Bishop (R-UT)
  2. Rep. Bruce Westerman (R-AR)

House Science, Space, and Technology Committee

  1. Rep. Ralph Abraham (R-LA)
  2. Rep. Neal Dunn (R-FL)

House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee

  1. Rep. Jeff Denham (R-CA)
  2. Rep. Bob Gibbs (R-OH)