Congressman Austin Scott

Representing the 8th District of Georgia



Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Purple Heart Bill



Sponsored by Rep. Austin Scott (GA-08)

“This legislation would allow combat wounded, total and permanently disabled veterans the opportunity to continue to excel as valuable members of the community and workforce, without forcing them to surrender their SSDI benefits.”



Currently, combat disabled veterans who earn an income in excess of $1,220 per month lose 100% of their Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) for being actively engaged in the workforce.

This unacceptably low limit deters workforce participation and disincentivizes injured veterans from pursuing jobs, promotions, or working overtime.



H.R. 2655 would raise the current monthly disability benefit for combat disabled veterans from $1,220 per month to the statutorily-allowed maximum level of $2,040 per month.

By raising the current allowable monthly income level to the maximum statutorily-allowed level, disabled veterans would be able to maintain an acceptable level of support, while also allowing an opportunity to reach their professional goals.

Additionally, it would ensure veterans who are disabled due to combat do not lose their Social Security disability benefits in cases when earned income exceeds the new threshold. The bill introduces a 4 to 1 offset, eliminating the SSDI benefits cliff by gradually reducing benefits only after a veteran’s salary rises above $2,040 per month.





COSPONSORS (as of 08/07/20):

  1. Rep. Ralph Abraham (R-LA-05)
  2. Rep. Rick Allen (R-GA-12)
  3. Rep. Brian Babin (R-TX-36)
  4. Rep. Don Bacon (R-NE-02)
  5. Rep. James Baird (R-IN-04)
  6. Rep. Jack Bergman (R-MI-01)
  7. Rep. Jamie Herrera Beutler (R-WA-03)
  8. Rep. Sanford Bishop (D-GA-02)
  9. Rep. Vern Buchanan (R-FL-16)
  10. Rep. Salud Carbajal (D-CA-24)
  11. Rep. Buddy Carter (R-GA-01)
  12. Rep. Steve Chabot (R-OH-01)
  13. Rep. Doug Collins (R-GA-9)
  14. Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX-11)
  15. Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT-02)
  16. Rep. Rick Crawford (R-AR-01)
  17. Rep. Scott DesJarlais (R-TN-04)
  18. Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-SC-03)
  19. Rep. Neal Dunn, M.D. (R-FL-02)
  20. Rep. Veronica Escobar (D-TX-16)
  21. Rep. Drew Ferguson (R-GA-03)
  22. Rep. Bill Flores (R-TX-17)
  23. Rep. John Garamendi (D-CA-03)
  24. Rep. Sam Graves (R-MO-06)
  25. Rep. Tom Graves (R-GA-14)
  26. Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R-MO-04)
  27. Rep. Richard Hudson (R-NC-08)
  28. Rep. John Joyce (R-PA-13)
  29. Rep. Trent Kelly (R-MS-01)
  30. Rep. Andy Kim (D-NJ-03)
  31. Rep. Connor Lamb (D-PA-17)
  32. Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-CO-05)
  33. Rep. Barry Loudermilk (R-GA-11)
  34. Rep. Roger Marshall (R-KS-01)
  35. Rep. Brian Mast (R-FL-18)
  36. Rep. Patrick McHenry (R-NC-10)
  37. Rep. Paul Mitchell (R-MI-10)
  38. Rep. Alexander Mooney (R-WV-2)
  39. Rep. Jimmy Panetta (D-CA-20)
  40. Rep. Jamie Raskin (D-MD-08)
  41. Rep. Tom Rice (R-SC-07)
  42. Rep. Martha Roby (R-AL-02)
  43. Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL-03)
  44. Rep. Max Rose (D-NY-110
  45. Rep. David Rouzer (R-NC-07)
  46. Rep. David Scott (D-GA-13)
  47. Rep. Elissa Slotkin (D-MI-08)
  48. Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY-21)
  49. Rep. Chris Stewart (R-UT-02)
  50. Rep. Van Taylor (R-TX-03)
  51. Rep. Mac Thornberry (R-TX-13)
  52. Rep. Glenn Thompson (R-PA-15)
  53. Rep. Mike Turner (R-OH-10)
  54. Rep. Jeff Van Drew (D-NJ-02)
  55. Rep. Mark Walker (R-NC-06)
  56. Rep. Michael Waltz (R-FL-06)
  57. Rep. Joe Wilson (R-SC-02)
  58. Rep. Steve Womack (R-AR-03)
  59. Rep. Ron Wright (R-TX-06)
  60. Rep. Filemon Vela (D-TX-34)